Those with expired or out-of-state tags have been warned
The law enforcement presence on the first day of class last year - even at elementary schools - was hard to ignore. It was a targeted effort by the Auditor's office to nab those driving with expired and out-of-state tags.
Just in case you're knowingly in violation and want to take the opportunity today to get legal, head on over to one of the SCDMV offices in Horry County. They'll be glad to help out. See the map below.
Those moving to South Carolina from out-of-state have 45 days to transfer their license plates and vehicle registration and 90 days to get a South Carolina driver's license.. Failure to do so can result in hefty fines and penalties. You can read more about how to comply when taking up residence in the Palmetto state on the SCDMV's site.
To read more about the impact last year's efforts by the Auditor's office had, check out this WBTW story. As a taxpayer, it seems like a good idea. As a parent, who has been through that emotional morning of dropping her cherub off at the big new school for her first day, it feels a little mean.
View Horry County SCDMV Offices in a larger map
Comment and read more
our topic pages and automatically found related coverage.